Interview: Insights into our 2020 NCSC CyberFirst Bursary Students

Last summer GCA took part in the NCSC CyberFirst Programme in the UK. We welcomed 5 CyberFirst Students to GCA who worked on various cyber related projects with us throughout the summer. We benefited substantially, as did they from the practical hands on exposure to global cybersecurity challenges, impact and how they are being addressed across the industry. It is a little different this year, we are joined by 4 bursary students all working remotely proactively contributing to some of the substantial projects we are working on. Here we ask each of them about their experience to date on the programme:

It’s great to have you with us this summer! Please tell us a little about yourselves and how the CyberFirst programme is helping you with your studies:

1 Like

Hi, I’m studying Computer Science with Cyber Security (Meng) at York University and I’m due to graduate in 2022. I hope to secure a role in data analytics post degree. I particularly enjoy the programming part of my course. I have found that the CyberFirst programme often expands on the theoretical concepts you learn in a Computer Science degree and teaches you how to apply them in a more practical way. For example, last year at University I learnt about the fundamentals of operating system and then went to the summer academy and learnt about how these concepts apply to specific operating systems. This year I learnt about database design at University and will now be applying this knowledge as part of a project for GCA.