Interview: Rachael Cornejo on the importance of cybersecurity for non profit organisations

It’s great to be joined by Rachael Cornejo who joined GCA in September as part of the Hewlett Foundation/Charles Koch Institute Emerging Tech Policy Leaders Program. Rachael thanks for your time today - GCA are delighted to have you join us!

Hello Emma! It’s great to be here.

Rachael, tell us a little about your background and how you became interested in cybersecurity.

My journey into cybersecurity began at UC Berkeley. I was a project manager at Berkeley Law’s Human Rights Investigations Lab, which performs OSINT (online open source intelligence) to uncover evidence of threats to democracy and human rights. As a team leader, I taught these online investigation techniques to other students and felt responsible for their online safety. I thus set out to learn as much as I could about cybersecurity. I then joined a phenomenal program called Citizen Clinic, run through UC Berkeley’s Center for Long-Term Cybersecurity, in which participants become hands-on consultants for cybersecurity nonprofits. After consulting for a couple nonprofits, I discovered I loved cyber!

1 Like

Your research has focussed a lot in the nonprofit sector. What are your key findings from the research you have undertaken to date?